Mass Effect 2: Final Thoughts

I beat Mass Effect 2 today. Major spoilers ahead and what not, but I imagine you’ve already beaten it.

Things I did:

*Slept with Tali. Miranda was too good looking to be safe. Plus, Tali owed me for keeping her father’s legacy in the clear and keeping her from being exiled.
*Disappointed by the Suicide Mission… Or, at least, the missions in general. They were all so short. I feel like they could have cut the number of missions and made them longer – it felt more like levels in an FPS than missions in an RPG. Compounded when I finished the suicide mission in ~40 minutes.
*Speaking of that, poor Zaeed. He led my second team and took a bullet to the chest. Otherwise, no casualties.
*I left the Collectors’ base intact. C’mon, the tech in there is probably awesome. Plus, you can’t tell me for all of their bite the Collectors only have one ship.
*Got a bunch of renegade points for the above, but I was pretty much super Paragon.
*I also destroyed the Heretics’ base. I couldn’t accept brainwashing sentients, but killing them is fair because, you know, they deserve it. Legion is awesome by the way.
*Speaking of Legion, I was disappointed in his use. I got him at the very end… And thus he wasn’t very involved. It seemed, to me, like he had a bigger part. Maybe it was cut down.
*Oh yeah, my crew survived.
*Ending was meh. Didn’t feel like we learned as much like we did in the original – though the characters were developed a lot more.
*At the same time, bring on the Reaper fleet. I’ll show ’em who’s boss.

How long until Mass Effect 3?

About cheshil

College Student
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mass Effect 2: Final Thoughts

  1. Peterson says:

    There are videos on Youtube of people who have hacked the game to get Legion earlier; apparently, he has recorded dialogue for many of the earlier scenes.

    I will say, I was pretty surprised to realize that Harbinger was a Reaper, and not just the Collector General. Maybe that’s just because I played through it so quickly the first time.

  2. Liana says:

    (“Plus, Tali owed me”)

    oh no you did *not* just say that a girl owed you sex

    anyway, moving on

    I personally think leaving the Collector base intact is a bad, bad move. Remember the last time Cerberus tried to study Reaper tech?

    I’m also actually rather confused that rewriting the heretic geth is considered a paragon move. You *are* brainwashing sentients. How is that possibly a good thing? I went with it because I knew I would need all the allies I could get in the upcoming war against the Reapers, not because I thought it was the morally correct thing to do. Wow, value dissonance there, Bioware.

    • cheshil says:

      Well, she owed me the time of day, for sure. The rest was all her, in a completely awkward sort of way.

      As for the base, I think we need every advantage we can get. I mean, sure, even Legion said we should evolve our own way, but I take keeping the base as a tool of research. If we know how to make something, we know how to break it. I don’t actually think we should retrofit their technology or anything.

      Then again, I have no idea how that choice will play out in ME3. I’m getting the feeling it’s not going to go the way I want it to, but luckily I’ll make it work out. I’m too cool to not.

Leave a Reply

