Home & A Discussion on Blog Entries

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=mississippi+gulf+coast&iid=8643253″ src=”7/2/9/3/Oil_Slick_Spreads_b0ed.JPG?adImageId=12715962&imageId=8643253″ width=”500″ height=”373″ /]

So, I’m officially home for the summer. What that summer entails is, so far, currently unknown. I did not get a research position in Jackson, and in the time it took them to tell me that (~15 days later than they said it would be), my job position was filled. Of course, the whole “oil spill” thing means there’s a bunch of volunteering opportunities to keep me busy, which I suppose is some sort of silver lining.

I really need to post my recap of TiP filming. Remind me.

Anyway, today I’m going to discuss blog entries. I recently (about 5 minutes ago) stumbled upon some blogs of people I know. Reading them, I was a bit… miffed. They read like, well, what you would think a blog should read like. Does that make sense?

I suppose a textbook definition of a blog may go something like “a series of writings by an amateur about a particular topic or topics.” Reading that definition, you expect that a blog would come with some sort of expected style – a picture at the top, an interesting headline, and the musings of someone written in a prim, though roguish, vernacular (three words I never expected to use today). And that’s what I read.

Maybe that’s the point, but I don’t like it. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it seems like people have an idea of what a blog is, and are modeling their own entries on that idea rather than on themselves. Shouldn’t what you write define your blog, not the concept of blog define your writings?

I’m worried I’m not making sense. Hm. Are you writing what you want to write, or are you writing to some standard you feel you should, because it’s in the public? Maybe that’s the best way to put it.

I run the risk of becoming ironic, and I don’t know if I’m actually making a point or proving it. So yeah. I’m home and I can actually afford to think about ridiculous stuff like this rather than how many valence electrons are on a chlorine atom (7, I believe).

Now all that’s left to do is find a picture to begin this entry with.

About cheshil

College Student
This entry was posted in Life, Trouble in Paradise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

